Thread: Bogong Moths

Fry

Bogong Moths

I'm a baker and go to work in the wee dark hours of the premorning. Before sparrow fart even! On the last few days I've seen large numbers of Bogong Moths flitting around the street lights and crawling up the inside walls of the bakery I work at. They're big, the bodies up to I 1/2 inches long and fat. They'd make a decent meal for the trout that live in the creek that runs behind the bakery where I work. If it wasn't pouring rain outside, I'd be wading up the Grace Burn to see if I could tempt the trout with a big fly such as a Muddler minnow which might pass well enough as a Bogong moth. If it stops raining today, it has to eventually I guess, I'll see if the Burn trout like Bogong Moths.
    Cheers,
    Steve

smallstreams.com plankowner ofuros's Avatar
    I've heard/ read about the bogong moth hatch...lets us know how the trout respond to the deluge of moths

Fry
    I waded up the Grace Burn yesterday afternoon but the moth hatch was over. Damn that rain! Maybe next year. Tried my standard small stream Stimulator and nymph rig but no joy. Didn't even spy a fish in the surprisingly clear water. The Burn clears very quickly after rain.
    ofuros--where are your favourite or local waters in OZ?
    Cheers,
    Steve.

Hi Spod,
    The closest trout holding waters to me are around the Armidale area, in NSW.
    About a 5.5hr drive from Brisbane, along the New England highway.
    It's roughly the northern limit for trout in Australia....before the waters become to warm for them to survive.
    I like cool, clear, wilderness headwaters, places where I can meander upstream & not see another's footprints,
    where wallabies thump, snakes slither & a koala's call sound like a feral pigs......not the most comforting sound when
    your solo, far from base camp & pushing through dense bush.

From Brissy, Tasmania is only a 4hr flight away.