Thread: Thoughts on taking High Water Trout

Thoughts on taking High Water Trout

On my birthday - the 21st September - Francois Malherbe and myself headed out to du Toit's Kloof to fish a beat on the Elandspad River, a tributary of the Smalblaar and Molenaars Rivers. All reports had said that streams were in full spate and that fishing would be impossible. Quite a few people said that it was a waste of time and the drive would unnecessarily add to the my carbon footprint!

When the ground is sodden and the peaks are full of snow, most guys stay at home and tie flies.

Over the years, however, I have learnt that fishing for trout in high water conditions is not as daunting as may first appear. I've learnt a few lessons the hard way, and others a bit more easily.

Take for instance my first (strong) suggestion. STAY DRY. As a student I didn't have waders. Wet wading during early season while there's snow on the mountains and rain in the air is not pleasant. It can also be dangerous. Being wet vastly increases one's chance of getting hypothermia, which of course may lead to one's early and unnecessary expiration. Luckily I didn't back then but do remember getting so cold that I could barely hold my rod and most certainly not tie a fly onto a tippet. So, wear your waders. They'll keep you dry and happy. Warmth is your friend. If, like Francois, you end up getting some water in your waders, you want to have some spare, dry clothes in the car or in a dry bag in your pack. Wading a full cape stream is not easy, so be careful!

Staying dry is also an important consideration in terms of cameras, phones, car keys or even your lunch! Waterproof accordingly and be prepared!

Even wet waders are better than wet wading - here Francois empties his at end of the day.
    It also highlights the need to be aware of water depth and current strength.

Francois battling the current to get a fly into the far side eddy.