Thread: Hard times in Louisiana

Hard times in Louisiana

Its been an odd two years in my creek fishing addiction. See, Ive been fishing them since about 2006, and the word addiction is really a mild description. Creek fishing is even more unpredictable than lake fishing.

But 2010 was a banner year in my creek fishing career. I mean absolutely awesome. I caught more fish, and better quality, than ever before.

But a creek is a fickle mistress. Spring of 2011 came around and was off to a roaring good start. But then that massive drought settled over so much of the south and Midwest, and my beloved little flows largely dried up. Consequently, I didnt wet a line from the first week of June last year until March of this year.

Now, there are some deep holes in these creeks, usually, and the fish generally survive such extremes by hunkering down in them. Water is cooler down there, and probably flows a bit through the rock and sand too, fed by springs.

So this year, Ive made three trips so far, and the fishing has been absolutely fantastic!

That catching however has been pretty dismal.

Near as we can tell, this particular creek we visit the most has been subjected to repeated flash floods. We are unsure what, if any, mortality rate last years drought might have caused. But there has been ample evidence of the violent and fickle nature of the creek.

When we arrived at the creek, there was ample water. There had been high, fast and gin-clear water all spring. Not so high and fast that it was dangerous or unfishable, just pleasant and gorgeous. However, we soon learned that in our absence the old girl had shown that other side of her personality.

Spots where we waded ankle-deep across sandbars were now long expanses of deep, dark water we couldnt wade. Other places that were long and deep now were easily crossed.

We hit one long run of deep water that hadnt been there three weeks before and decided to climb up the bluff and walk around it.