Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dry flies for bluegill?

Dry flies for bluegill?

I am new to flyfishing, and lately I have had the urge to fish for bluegill. I have done some research, and have come up with many different results, some of which conflict with each other. I would like to know what dry flies you guys prefer to use for bluegill. The difficulty of tying the fly is not a huge factor as I have been tying longer than I have been flyfishing Thank you!

Fry
    I find 'gills like things with rubber legs on them. I tye a version of a Humpy in size 12 with black, white or yellow (seem to be good bluegill colours) legs and have good success. A 12 or 14 pheasant tail trailing behind picks up quite a few fish as well.

I like to toss flies to bluegills. I prefer to cast a small poppers and have them hit it on top. But, nymphs and wooley buggers work well, too.

Here is my daughter with a bluegill taken on a popper on a farm pond in MO.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 6289_120299942696_825782696_2148532_2395241_n.jpg  

Basically any dry will work for panfish... I like humpies and wulffs. If they don't go for those, little wooly buggers with a chartreuse element (I usually do chartreuse marabou, a green/black chenille and grizzly palmered hackle nd sometimes with red thread so I get a red head...) are my next batter, and then if those don't work I go to a prince or zugbug.

Honestly, with those four or five flies, you'd be golden.

I LOVE fly fishing for panfish, which is good since having moved to TX...

My boys on our "secret creek":

Hey Colton, where in Idaho? We lived in Sandpoint for about four years...

Thanks for all of your help! Gusstrand, I live in the Magic Valley area.