Thread: Greetings, all from a crusty old timer

Greetings, all from a crusty old timer

Hello everybody. I've found my way to this site several times but never when I had time to make a proper introduction.
    I began fly tying and fishing in 1962 or 1963. I sometimes say I was self-taught as I had no instruction from another fly fisher nor fly tyer, in fact didn't even know another fly fisherman. But that wouldn't be entirely true; or at least not accurate. At that time there were no fly fishing and tying magazines, per se. But I sold OUTDOOR LIFE, SPORTS AFEILD and FIELD and STREAM subscriptions to family, friends and neighbors in order to obtain my own subscriptions for "free". And from the pages of these magazines, people like Lee Wulff, Joe Brooks and especially Vince Marinaro spoke to me of their experiences on streams and rivers, oceans and lakes and the catching of fish on a fly rod. This was exotic stuff to a kid and it's secretive, mysterious fraternity captured my imagination as surely as if they were standing over my shoulder coaching me on my cast.