Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hooks

Hooks

What brand of hooks do you guys tie with? Also, is there a good on-line source for these hooks?

I am a newbie tier and I would like to find a good brand of hooks to use and stick with. I have been tying with the hook&hackle brand, but would like to switch over to a major manufacture. Mustad has my eye right now due to low cost. Thanks

Re: Hooks

It really depends on the pattern I am tying . As to anything Mustad, ya want to get that straight from Norway (Signature Hooks) . When I am designing stye of hook will determine what brand I use . Sure as heck would like to get a hold of more of those Swedish Dry Fly Hooks (especially in the 18's) !!!

Terry,

I use Mustads.

Shop some of the sites online and you can find Mustads that are mfg in Norway.

H and H has some of them available.

- Brk Trt

Are the ones made in Norway superior to the U.S. models?

I don't think their superior.

What they are is very consistant, in size, strength, sharpness and finish.

I have some old Mustads that are packed in wax wrap and in cardboard boxes.

- Brk Trt

I used to use mustad 94840 & 9671 & 9672 among others I still have a few left. They quit making them. They brought out another series but I'm not sure what the # are. I am going to with tiemco. I already use some for different midge patterns and pheasat tails and stimulators or hoppers. these ar curved 2457, 2487, 2488 and 200R. I also have some 100 & 101 for dry flies. They are about the same price as the new mustad and I think they are sharper. :)

The Norwegian Mustads are very consistent in their quality, which to me, makes them much better then the Mustads you would get in the U.S . I do look for the Mustad Signature Hooks.
    I have seen a higher quality in a lot of the European hooks over that in the United States !!!!
    I prefer tying on a higher quality hook . My customers prefer this as well even though it makes the price of my flies a little higher !!!! ;)

utahtu