PDA

View Full Version : Rod Buying Advice?

Okemorse
09-11-2010, 05:17 PM
Hello all!
So I am in the market for a new fly rod. Though I have an idea of afew brands etc that interest me I dont want to jump right in and buy if theres a better rod or deal out there I am overlooking (im pretty new to the whole scene). Id like a 7-7.5 foot 3 weight graphite rod...4 pieces. The plan is to do alot of backpacking, bushwhacking, crawling around etc....so I dont really want to spend 500+ dollars as im sure it wont be long before ive scratched it up thoroughly. Can you guys recommend what you'd buy if you were in the market for the same thing? Say 100-300$ for the rod. Ive been looking at the TFO finesse series and afew others. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks so much

adam
09-11-2010, 06:04 PM
Orvis has a old Superfine in that config, I bet if you looked around online, you could find someone who has one for sale in your price range...

mems
09-15-2010, 01:50 AM
Aloha, I am a slaes rep for TFO, so take my advice for what it is worth, free. I like the TFO finesse series. It is a little slower action than the pro series and the other models of rods. I have the 7'6" 4wt and 3wt. They are great trout rods for both dries and nymphs. They are relatively inexpensive and have nice components. Make sure you get a rod case with them, because they only come with a rod sock. I have used mine in many different locations and have been able to land some pretty nice trout with them. There are some other very nice rods out there, and it is difficult to not find a good rod at a decent price point today. I would suggest going to a flyshop and try casting them with the same line to see wich one best fits your casting style. I think you will be happy with TFO and the warranty is great, as is the service. Both fish were caught with the finesse 4wt. Mems.
http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a371/mems15/IMGP0394.jpg
http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a371/mems15/IMGP0336.jpg

AZWanderings