PDA

View Full Version : Hello from northeast Iowa

wandering owl
02-06-2010, 11:10 PM
Howdy folks! I am a newbie to fly fishing and hope to buy my first outfit this spring. I hope you don't mind if I wade around and do a lot of learning.

I wade the streams of northeast Iowa for trout and smallmouth bass - spin fishing for now, but I'm thinking I need to try it with nymphs and streamers.

If you're the teaching types and appreciate eager students, I've found the right place. I'm looking forward to checking out the forums and especially pics of trout and trout country. No scenery better.

troutrageous1
02-06-2010, 11:21 PM
Hey Owl, nice to see you made it over.
Good luck with your new addiction-to-be...believe me when I say your first outfit wont be your last! ;)

gusstrand
02-07-2010, 05:42 PM
Welcome!

soupmix
02-08-2010, 09:50 AM
Fly fishing is a boat-load of fun... but there is something to be said about throwing spinners in a small stream for the elusive large brown. That is how I got started and it is still one of my favorite ways to fish on a rainy summer day!

wandering owl
02-08-2010, 10:02 PM
Thank you for the welcomes! I'll try to get some pics of my favorite streams up soon.

Zac Sexton
02-11-2010, 02:12 AM
Wandering Owl,

Welcome aboard! Any of us here, would be glad to answer any questions--you just have to sort through our BS :crazy: . One recommendation I have right away, is to fish flies with your spinning gear. I'm not sure if you've tried yet, or not, but that's how I started. There are a few options, but two good ones are: put a couple/few BB split shot about 15 inches above a fly such as a Wooly Bugger or Half Back, and fish it much like a lure. Though, I did better with an up-and-across cast, then reel in as the fly comes down, and let 'er swing at the end of the drift, bouncing the bottom as you go. The split shot is the weight you'll need to cast the fly.