PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Northern California

eberjef
02-02-2010, 11:07 PM
I'm new to fly fishing, but I'm very motivated to learn.

I was directed to this site from the user groups at tenkarausa.com. I've found groups like this (of individuals dedicated to a particular pursuit but not motivated by financial gain) to be invaluable.

I'm also intrigued by this registration process -- I've never seen it before. It makes a lot of sense to separate genuine humans from the borg. Nice work.

In any case, I'm hoping to learn as much as I can from this site in order to lead my kids to an appreciation of being outdoors, of exploring and doing. To be honest, they don't need much motivation. They love hiking, backpacking and fishing. We need a new challenge, however, and that's where fly fishing rivers and streams comes in.

Well, that's all for now.

Thanks for listening.

gusstrand
02-02-2010, 11:37 PM
What?!? No financial gain? Dang. What was I thinking?!? Wait... That's for sure!

LOL... I'll vouch for that and affirm that this is a labor of love. Welcome!

gusstrand
02-02-2010, 11:41 PM
Oh, and that sort of intro is EXACTLY what were after. Honest intent. You sir, have a new world of access. Enjoy.

eberjef
02-03-2010, 10:24 AM
Thanks gstrand.

I'm gonna check out the access.

gusstrand
02-03-2010, 10:26 AM
By the way, where in NorCal?

eberjef
02-03-2010, 11:37 AM
Gstrand,

I'm in Marin County (insert gratuitous reference to: hot tubs / American Taliban / Patagonia pony-tailed dude pissed off that his low fat soy latte was filled too close to the brim so that he can't add his homeopathic Chinese herb extract).

I just checked out the Tenkara forum. Nice! It will be very helpful to have a more independent view than tenkarausa -- not that there's anything wrong with that site. It's very helpful, as many poster here at smallstreams have noted. But as others have also noted, options and variety are good things.